Meet Rachelle Drummond – and learn why 2020 Tour of Hope At Home has special meaning for her

Good morning everyone! 

I hope you are all doing well and staying healthy (both physically and mentally) amidst the craziness, enjoying the hot weather, and your TOH at home! 

First off, I wanted to say how amazing everyone is doing thus far, and I have been cheering you all on from a distance! Way to go and keep up the awesome work 🙂 

I had the pleasure of meeting and riding with the majority of you last year on the tour, but for those who I haven’t had the chance to meet, I wanted to introduce myself! 🙂 My name is Rachelle Drummond, I am 21, and currently am doing an after-degree in nursing at the UofC, with the goal of being in med school afterwards! My family and I became involved with the KWCS upon my diagnosis of ALL (acute lymphoblastic leukemia) at the age of 5. I am now immensely grateful and happy to say I am cancer free, This is my bio if you wanted some more info 🙂  https://kwc.akaraisin.com/tourofhope2020/rachelledrummond

Since my diagnosis, and as soon as I was old enough to, I became involved in volunteering with KWCS. This society has a very deep place in my heart, and these families and their kids are like my own family. It has been my absolute pleasure to volunteer with KWCS, and is one of the greatest opportunities I have gotten from my diagnosis. Being able to connect with these children and families on a personal level as a volunteer is something unlike any other, and something that I will always be grateful for. 

This ride has come full circle for me as I was once the kid that had a rider, but now I can be that rider for another child. I cannot explain how amazing that feels. 

In terms of starting my ride, it has been a whirlwind, but the time is coming sooner and sooner for my schedule to calm down, and for me to be able to start and I am very excited! I work for Alberta Wildfire, so my schedule is quite insane as fire season is quickly amping up with this warm weather, and I have been sent across the province the whole summer. I just moved to Calgary from Edmonton so I will be doing the majority of the ride by myself, and will mostly be doing routes around the Calgary, Banff and Canmore area (thanks to Carl for helping me plan some of these routes!! 🙂 – if any of you are in these areas I would love to ride with you. The longer legs of my ride will take place at the end of August and start of September when I am done my full time job and summer school, but in the meantime I will be adopting Jake and Carl’s plan of touring my local neighbourhood parks before or after work, depending on my shift :). 

As this is a tour of home, it is quite different, but I must say, doing this in a brand new city that I don’t know is very exciting for me, and will allow me to really explore my new neighbourhood and playground! I am very thrilled to be so close to the mountains now, especially for this ride. 

I am also very excited for the official start of my ride, as the incredible rider that rode for me many moons ago, George Gagnon, will be riding with me for a day. What a full circle moment 🙂 

Thank you so much for reading through that lengthy email. Please feel free to message me if you want to ride together or have any questions! 

Ride strong and ride safe, I am so proud of all of you and will be cheering you on!! 

 

All the best, 

Rachelle.